Hearthstone

Answer the Call of the 2018 Hearthstone Wild Open

Answer the Call of the 2018 Hearthstone Wild Open

Ready your Dr. Boom and Reno Jackson—2018’s Hearthstone Wild Open is here! As you venture into the wilds, keep in mind: Every jungle needs a ruler. Will it be you this year?

Until Feb. 18, sign up to compete in your region’s open qualifiers. Qualifiers will take place Feb. 22 through 25 and March 1 through 4.

There will be two 128-player Swiss brackets per region, per week, with best-of-three matches in Conquest format. Every player will bring three decks and ban one of their opponent’s.

The top 16 players—eight from each bracket—will duke it out in a single elimination playoff to determine who moves on to the regional playoffs.

Register Now

Registrations for each week’s qualifiers will close 24 hours prior to the tournament start time. The first week’s registration opens on Feb. 14, and the second week’s registration opens on Feb. 19.

Week 1 Qualifiers
Americas Asia Europe

Qualifier

Feb. 22, 10:00 a.m. PST

Qualifier

Feb. 24, 10:00 a.m. KST

(5:00 p.m. PST, Feb. 23)

Qualifier

Feb. 24, 4:00 p.m. CET

(7:00 a.m. PST)

Knockout Sunday

Feb. 25, 10:00 a.m. PST

Knockout Sunday

Feb. 25, 10:00 a.m. KST

(5:00 p.m. PST, Feb. 24)

Knockout Sunday

Feb. 25, 4:00 p.m. CET

(7:00 a.m. PST)

Week 2 Qualifiers
Americas Asia Europe

Qualifier

March 3, 10:00 a.m. PST

Qualifier

March 3, 10:00 a.m. KST

(5:00 p.m. PST, March 2)

Qualifier

March 1, 4:00 p.m. CET

(7:00 a.m. PST)

Knockout Sunday

March 4, 10:00 a.m. PST

Knockout Sunday

March 4, 10:00 a.m. KST

(5:00 p.m. PST, March 3)

Knockout Sunday

March 4, 4:00 p.m. CET

(7:00 a.m. PST)

There will be no broadcast for the qualifiers. To confirm eligibility or learn more about the tournament, check out the official rules.

Official Rules

Regional Playoffs

The regional playoffs are the next step towards reigning in Wild. The top eight players from each region will play in two four-person brackets, with the top player from each bracket advancing. This single elimination playoff—featuring best-of-five matches with four decks and one ban—will be broadcast. It will also have open deck lists.

Regional Playoffs Schedule
Americas Asia Europe

March 7, 9:00 a.m. PST

March 9, 9:00 a.m. KST

(4:00 p.m. PST, March 8)

March 6, 9:00 a.m. CET

(12:00 a.m. PST)

You’ll be able to watch this broadcast on the official PlayHearthstone Twitch channel.

Live Finals

Held in Burbank, California on March 31, this is where the real battle begins. The best-of-five single elimination bracket will be played with four decks, one ban, and open deck lists. At the end of such a demanding gauntlet, we will see who 2018’s top Wild player is!

The eight finalists for the Wild Open 2018 will walk away with the following prizes:

Placement Prize (USD)
1st $8,000
2nd $5,000
3rd - 4th $3,000
5th - 8th $1,500
Total $25,000

WildOpen2018_HS_Body_LW_600x400.jpg

In the Hearthstone Wild Open 2017, it was Italy’s self-professed Wild specialist Albert “Alb987” Reano who beat down goliath opponents like Canada’s Jesse “Control” Chrysler. Alb987 came from nowhere to win the crown, and he gave us a grand final worth remembering.

This year, the field is wide open for players from all around the world to come and do battle with titanic opponents. Will we see you there?

Next Article
World of Warcraft
13h

New Comic: World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth #1 — Jaina: “Reunion”

As the Horde and the Alliance reckon with the aftermath of their war with the Burning Legion, Jaina Proudmoore finds herself doing some soul searching in the ruins of Theramore.