wcs

WCS Global Finals - Opening Week Unveiled

WCS Global Finals - Opening Week Unveiled

WCS Global Finals - Opening Week Unveiled

For the 9th instalment of the WCS Global Finals, we have a special event planned for the first round of competition. From October 24-27, sixteen of the best StarCraft II players in the world will compete for glory in the birthplace of professional StarCraft: Seoul, South Korea.


Seoul of Competition

For the first time, anyone will be able to attend the Round of 16 of the WCS Global Finals at AfreecaTV’s FreecUP studio in Seoul, South Korea. Entry will be free, on a first-come, first-served basis. Radio headsets will be available for English speakers to hear live commentary.


Mecca of Esports

The production for the event will run by the same team that brings you the Global StarCraft II League (GSL) week after week - the most experienced StarCraft production crew in the world. We’ll be leveling up the broadcast with a full roster of English-speaking commentators and analysts as players vie for a spot in the Round of 8 – to be played at BlizzCon on November 1.


Expanding Every Match

One major change to the Global Finals Round of 16 will be the upgrade from best-of-three matches to best-of-five. The format will be the same tried-and-true double-elimination groups of four players, but in each match the victor will be required to win three matches over their opponent instead of two. This change doesn’t just serve to heighten the competition - it also means more great StarCraft action for the fans!

Day 1 - October 24 - 12:00 PM KST / 5:00 AM CEST / 8:00 PM PDT-1

  • Group A - Match 1
  • Group A - Match 2
  • Group A - Winners
  • Group A - Elimination
  • Group A - Decider

Day 2 - October 25 - 12:00 PM KST / 5:00 AM CEST / 8:00 PM PDT-1

  • Group B - Match 1
  • Group B - Match 2
  • Group B - Winners
  • Group B - Elimination
  • Group B - Decider

Day 3 - October 26 - 12:00 PM KST / 5:00 AM CEST / 8:00 PM PDT-1

  • Group C - Match 1
  • Group C - Match 2
  • Group C - Winners
  • Group C - Elimination
  • Group C - Decider

Day 4 - October 27 - 12:00 PM KST / 4:00 AM CET / 8:00 PM PDT-1

  • Group D - Match 1
  • Group D - Match 2
  • Group D - Winners
  • Group D - Elimination
  • Group D - Decider

Next Article
World of Warcraft
3d

Step into the Firelands During Cataclysm Timewalking

Forged by the titans to house Ragnaros and his wayward minions, the Firelands is now a part of Cataclysm Timewalking, running December 10–17.