Overwatch

Play Overwatch® Free November 20–26 on PC, PlayStation®4, and Xbox One!

There’s never been a better time to become an Overwatch agent. If you’re ready to join your friends on the payload, now's your chance.

From November 20–26, we're calling on all prospective agents: assemble your teams and dive in during the Overwatch Free Trial on PC, PlayStation®4, or Xbox One!

For this free trial, we're making the ultimate team-based shooter’s entire content available including the full roster of 29 heroes—including the newly released gunslinger Ashe—and 19 maps available for play in a variety of modes, such as Quick Play, Custom Games, and the Arcade. Players will also be able to level up, earn Loot Boxes, and unlock different customization options for their heroes.

Plus, if you decide to purchase Overwatch after test driving the game, you'll get to keep any progress that you made during the free Trial—just be sure to use the same Blizzard, Xbox Live, or Sony account that you played on.


Never miss a moment of the action by pre-downloading Overwatch onto PlayStation 4 or Xbox One starting today so you’re ready to play when the Free Trial starts November 20.

During the Free Trial, players will have the opportunity to unlock in-game rewards for a limited time! Players with linked Blizzard and Twitch accounts can watch two hours of Overwatch streams starting November 20 through November 26 to earn three Ashe-themed sprays.

IMPORTANT: To be eligible to receive these Twitch Drops you must first link your Blizzard account to your Twitch account. Visit the Twitch Connections page to log in and complete the link now.

For more details and to learn how you can participate, read on below!

The Overwatch Free Trial will run from November 20–26. All PlayStation 4 owners with a PlayStation Plus membership, Xbox One owners with an Xbox Live Gold membership, and Windows PC with a Blizzard account will be able to download and play Overwatch for FREE during this period—no special keys or sign-up codes needed!

The Overwatch Free Trial will begin on November 20 at 11:00 a.m. PST and end on November 26 at 11:59 p.m. PST in supported regions across all platforms. To see when the Free Trial will go live in your region, check out the reference guides below. For additional time zone timezoneconverter.com.

EUROPE: THE AMERICAS: ASIA:

19:00 GMT on Nov 20

20:00 CET on Nov 20

22:00 MSK on Nov 20

11:00 a.m. PST on Nov 20

1:00 p.m. MDT on Nov 20

2:00 p.m. CDT on Nov 20

3:00 p.m. AST on Nov 20

2:00 p.m. EDT on Nov 20

5:00 p.m. BRST on Nov 20

4:30 p.m. NDT on Nov 20

3:00 a.m. SGT on Nov 21

6:00 a.m. AEDT on Nov 21

8:00 a.m. NZST on Nov 21

3:00 a.m. CST on Nov 21

4:00 a.m. KST on Nov 21

4:00 a.m. JST on Nov 21

The Overwatch Free Trial may not be available in all regions. See our FAQ for details.

Before your watch can begin, you'll first need to install Overwatch on your chosen platform. Every platform is a little different—to install and play on November 20, please follow the instructions below.

FOR WINDOWS PC
(November 20):

Step 1: Download and install the Blizzard Battle.net desktop app, if you haven't already, and launch it.
Step 2: Create a free Blizzard account, or log in with an existing account. 
Step 3: Click the Overwatch icon, located on the left-hand side of the Blizzard desktop app.
Step 4: Select your region from the drop-down menu, then click "Install" to begin the installation process.
Step 5: Once installed, click "Play" to begin!

The Overwatch Free Trial will be available for download from November 20–27. 

FOR PLAYSTATION 4
(Requires PlayStation Plus membership; pre-download starting at 11:00 AM PST on November 15th):

Step 1: Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user. 
Step 2: Go to PlayStation Store and select "Search" from the top menu. 
Step 3: In the search field, type in Overwatch.
Step 4: Select "Overwatch Free Trial" from the search results and then click "Download."
Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click "Start" to begin!

The Overwatch Free Trial will be available for download from November 15–26 for PlayStation® 4. 

FOR XBOX ONE
(Requires Xbox Live Gold membership; pre-download starting at 11:00 AM PST on November 15th):

Step 1: Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.
Step 2: Go to the Xbox One Store, then select "Search."
Step 3: In the search field, type in "Overwatch."
Step 4: Select "Overwatch: Origins Edition" from the search results and then click "Free Trial."
Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click "Launch" to begin!

The Overwatch Free Trial will be available for download from November 15–26 for Xbox One. 

Q. In what regions is the Free Trial available?
A. The Free Trial will be offered in all regions on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. On PC, it will be available in our Americas, Europe, and Asia gameplay regions (excluding Korea).
For more information on which countries are associated with each of our Blizzard gameplay regions, click here.

Q. What game content will be available during the Free Trial? 
A. During the Free Trial, players will have access to Overwatch's full roster of heroes, maps, and a selection of features—including Quick Play, Custom Games, the Arcade, and Loot Boxes.

Q. How many heroes are available in Overwatch? 
A. There are 29 heroes available to play in Overwatch! To learn more about these heroes, click here.

Q. How many maps are available in Overwatch? 
A. There are 19 different maps available in Overwatch, each with different goals and objectives:

  • Assault: Hanamura, Horizon Lunar Colony, Temple of Anubis, and Volskaya Industries
  • Escort: Dorado, Junkertown, Rialto, Route 66, and Watchpoint: Gibraltar
  • Assault/Escort Hybrid: Blizzard World, Eichenwalde, Hollywood, King's Row, and Numbani
  • Control: Busan, Ilios, Lijiang Tower, Nepal, and Oasis

Q. How many players does each mode support?
A. Quick Play maps supports 12 players in a 6v6 format. The Arcade features alternate games modes and maps that support players in 1v1, 3v3, 6v6, and free-for-all formats. 

Q. What different play modes are available in Overwatch during the Free Trial?
A. There are a variety of ways to play Overwatch during the Free Trial! 

  • Quick Play: Jump into a game against other players of similar skill.
  • Play vs. AI: Hone your skills against a team of AI-controlled heroes.
  • Custom Game: Customize the rules and play a game with your friends or AI.
  • Arcade: Change things up with alternate games modes featuring different rules sets and restrictions.

Players can also learn the ropes in a series of training modes: Tutorial, Practice Range, and Practice vs. AI.

Q. Do I need Xbox Live Gold or PlayStation Plus membership to participate in the Free Trial? 
A. Xbox Live Gold and PlayStation are required to play during the Free Trial. 

Q. What languages are supported during Free Trial?
A. The Free Trial will be supported in 13 languages across all platforms: English, French, German, Polish, Italian, Russian, Castilian Spanish, Latin American Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Korean, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, and Traditional Chinese.

Q. Will my progress from the Free Trial carry over if I purchase Overwatch later? 
A. Yes. Any progression you earn, including levels as well as skins and other items you get from Loot Boxes, will carry over to the full game if you purchase Overwatch® Legendary Edition on Xbox One or PlayStation 4 or any version of Overwatch on PC—just be sure you purchase the game on the same account you played on during this free trial.

Your stats will also be retained. (Trophies and achievements, however, have been disabled for the Free Trial.)

Q. Will PC and console gamers be able to play together during the Free Trial? 
A: No, cross-platform play is not available in Overwatch. 

Q. Will there be any sort of maintenance planned during the Free Trial?
A. There's no downtime or maintenance currently planned for the Free Trial. If this plan changes at any point, we'll be sure to provide information about major service interruptions in the official forums. For additional status updates, be sure to follow @PlayOverwatch on Twitter.

Next Article
World of Warcraft
3h

AWC and MDI Competitive Rulings

Comprehensive source of rulings and actions in WoW esports.