Hearthstone

Dominant Deck Lists and Players: Hearthstone Grandmasters Week 2

Dominant Deck Lists and Players: Hearthstone Grandmasters Week 2

Bomb Warrior and Tempo Rogue were the two most popular deck archetypes in Week 1 of Hearthstone Grandmasters. Both decks made an appearance in some form across all three regions over the weekend with Bomb Warrior going 26–28 (48% win rate) and Tempo Rogue going 18–17 (51% win rate).

While not as popular, Cyclone Mage dominated in Asia-Pacific and Europe, claiming a 71% win rate over 28 games played and making it Week 1’s most successful archetype. In Week 2 it is the most popular archetype, making up exactly half of the decks in play. 

The X-0 Bracket

Congrats to the 12 players who went undefeated on the weekend!

Americas
Europe
Asia-Pacific
Dog Casie Dawn
Eddie Fenomeno Flurry
Fr0zen Kolento Shaxy
Monsanto Seiko
Thijs

Between Flurry, Dawn, and Kolento, every Grandmaster competing on behalf of Cloud9 made it through Week 1 without dropping a match. So, congrats as well to Cloud9!

Dawn Value

Because Dawn was Korea’s first player ever to take home more than $100,000 in prize money from a single event, the Korean Hearthstone community often refers to the increment of $100,000 as 1 Dawn. For example, Casper "Hunterace" Notto’s $250,000 in winnings from the HCT 2019 World Championship would be 2.5 Dawn.

In Week 2, Fenomeno vs. Kolento is our only match between two undefeated players, taking place Friday, May 24, at 11am PT / 7pm CET. Both players have decided to stick with a Cyclone Mage list for Week 2. 

The Week 1 wins were especially sweet for Flurry, as he is the only undefeated player who had been invited to Grandmasters via a Legends spot. Between the other 11 undefeated players, six joined Grandmasters as top point leaders while the other five were invited as top prize-money earners.

What to Watch for in Week 2

allGM.jpg

Wednesday’s nerfs to Rogue and Archivist Elysiana upended the meta game in a big way! Knowing that, here are this weekend’s must-watch matches:

SamuelTsao vs. glory—Friday, May 24, at 4am PT / 12pm CET

Taiwan’s Tsao “SamuelTsao” Tsu Lin will take on Japan’s Kenta "glory" Sato in Friday’s Asia-Pacific featured match. SamuelTsao took two hard losses in Week 1, narrowly going 1-2 twice in a pair of Tempo Rogue mirrors against Ng “Blitzchung” Wai Chung and Wu "BloodTrail" Zong-Chang.

Glory also brought Tempo Rogue in Week 1 but played against Cyclone Mage in both of his matches, going 1-2 against Dawn and winning out against Tyler “Tyler” Hoang Nguyen 2-0. Both players dropped the Rogue class for Week 2 in favor of Hunter and Mage respectively. 

Purple vs. Dog—Saturday, May 25, at 12pm PT / 8pm CET

Two community favorites will clash this Saturday when Ryan "Purple" Murphy-Root takes on Dog! Purple took a 2-0 win over Francisco "PNC" Leimontas to kick things off in the Americas last weekend, but ended up playing out all three of his deck lists against Jerome "Monsanto" Faucher to no avail.

As previously mentioned, Dog is undefeated after taking a clean 4-0 on opening weekend. Despite the nerfs, he has opted to stick with Archivist Elysiana in his Bomb Warrior deck for Week 2.

Thijs vs. Silvername—Sunday, May 26, at 9am PT / 5pm CET

Thijs ran the Teutonic gauntlet in Week 1, defeating both German HCT 2019 World Championship competitors in Torben "Viper" Wahl and Raphael "Bunnyhoppor" Peltzer.

Meanwhile, Vladislav "SilverName" Sinotov’s Bomb Warrior was powerful enough to defeat George "BoarControl" Webb’s Midrange Hunter in Week 1, but fumbled against Fenomeno the following day. Silvername’s match against Bunnyhoppor and Thijs’s match against Elias "Bozzzton" Sibelius on Saturday could foreshadow how this series will play out.

Divider_2019Dragon_EK_600x100.png

For Week 2 of Hearthstone Grandmasters, Flurry will attempt to defend his flawless streak against Dasol “Ryvius” Sim to kick things off. Catch the matches when the broadcast goes live this Friday, May 24, at 2am PT / 10am CET at Twitch.tv/PlayHearthstone!

Next Article
Hearthstone
15h

A Champion is Crowned in Seoul

Over 300 competitors participated, only one remains at the end of it all!