StarCraft II

WCS Montreal Survival Guide

WCS Montreal Survival Guide

Want to check an expert opinion of what went down in Montreal? Click here to check out the analysis in the WCS site!

The next WCS Circuit event begins this Friday as StarCraft II returns to DreamHack Montreal!

The event will take place starting on Friday September 8th PDT, and is set to conclude on Sunday. Two group stages will allow the 64 initial competitors to battle their way down to just 16, where they will then face off against in the Third Group Stage against the 16 players who qualified for the event via WCS Challenger. The 16 players who make it out of that stage will move onto the playoffs where great prizes of cash and WCS points await.

This event boasts a total prize pool of $100,000, with the winner taking home $25,000 and a direct seed into the WCS Global Finals. Check out the details below to get prepared for the event, and follow @EsportStarcraft this weekend for peeks behind the scenes!

 

Blizzard & DreamHack

Place Bonaventure 

800 De La Gauchetière St. W. #240, Montreal, QC H5A 1K6, Canada

Friday, September 8

  • EDT: 3:00 p.m.
  • PDT: 12:00 p.m.
  • BST: 8:00 p.m.
  • CEST: 9:00 p.m.
  • KST: 4:00 a.m. (+1) 

Saturday, September 9

  • EDT: 11:00 a.m.
  • PDT: 8:00 a.m.
  • BST: 4:00 p.m.
  • CEST: 5:00 p.m.
  • KST: 12:00 a.m. (+1) 

Sunday, September 10

  • EDT: 11:00 a.m.
  • PDT: 8:00 a.m.
  • BST: 4:00 p.m.
  • CEST: 5:00 p.m.
  • KST: 12:00 a.m. (+1) 

  • Commentator: Geoff 'iNcontroL' Robinson
  • Commentator: Leigh 'Maynarde' Mandalov
  • Commentator: Jessica 'ZombieGrub' Zombiegrub
  • Stage Host: *James "Mal" Song
  • Desk Host: James 'Kaelaris' Carrol
  • Commentator: Kevin ‘RotterdaM’ van der Kooi
  • Commentator: Nathaniel 'Nathanias' Fabrikant
  • Commentator: Yoan ‘ToD’ Merlo

Total Prize Pool: $100,000 USD & 11,000 WCS Points

1st place: $25,000 USD, 3,000 WCS Points, and a direct seed to the WCS Global Finals.

2nd place: $10,000 USD & 1,400 WCS Points

3rd – 4th place: $6,500 USD & 900 WCS Points

5th – 8th place: $4,000 USD & 600 WCS Points

9th – 16th place: $2,500 USD & 300 WCS Points

17th – 32nd place: $1,000 USD

Join in on the conversation about these games here!

Visit the new WCS Website for information on this tournament and others, or to learn more about competitive StarCraft II!

Next Article
Hearthstone
10h

Hearthside Chat with Dave Kosak: Dungeon Runs

Join Hearthstone Mission Designer Dave Kosak as he reveals more about the development process that went into the creation of the new Dungeon Run single-player game mode coming in Kobolds & Catacombs.